Eligibility Information

In order to shop at the Christmas Store, every applicant must meet the following criteria:

  • have an income that is no greater than 125% of the federal established poverty level (Eligible shoppers can earn 25% above the poverty level.)
  • be a Montgomery County resident

    and meet one of the following conditions:

  • be 62 years of age or older
  • receive some type of disability
  • have children 17 years of age or younger
    (children age 18 and 19 must still be in high school)
  • have emergency circumstances
 

Specific Examples and Situations:

  • A 30 year old couple who qualifies financially but has no children is not eligible to shop at the Store.
  • Losing everything in a recent fire qualifies a family.
  • Two families living in the same house would only qualify as one shopper.
  • Medicaid information is an instant qualifier.

Applicants will be required to show ID for themselves and anyone living in the home.

Eligibility Dates for Screening

  • Saturday, October 15   9 am - 1 pm
  • Sunday, October 16    1 pm - 4 pm
  • Tuesday, October 18    5 pm - 7 pm
  • Wednesday, October 19   5 pm - 7 pm
  • Thursday, October 20    5 pm - 7 pm
  • Sunday, November 13    1 pm - 4 pm
  • Tuesday, November 15    5 pm - 7 pm
  • Wednesday, November 16     5 pm - 7 pm
  • Thursday, November 17     5 pm - 7 pm
  • Saturday, November 19    9 am - 1 pm
  • Saturday, December 3    9 am - 1 pm

Montgomery County Christmas Store
30 W. Main Street Christiansburg, VA 24073
540 381 0585
Mailing address:
P.O.Box 221
Blacksburg, VA 24063